Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (2) - TV Shows (1) - Games (102)

Blah

Posted : 8 years, 2 months ago on 10 April 2009 09:55 (A review of Resident Evil)

Well this remake indeed served it's purpose to surpass the orginial. There were a few glitches with this one with the controls and all. Also it was easy at first. The graphics were surpurb for that time. There were no more stupid lines like the original. But this one is still my least favorite out of all the main games of the RE series.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Resident Evil Zero review

Posted : 8 years, 2 months ago on 10 April 2009 09:24 (A review of Resident Evil Zero)

This isn't the best RE game, but it certainly comes close. This was the last game using the rather robotic gameplay engine before RE 4 rolled around and stomped the series into new ground. But this was definitely the best use of the engine with great character based gameplay. The only flaw I found other than control was that it didn't quite have as interesting storyline as the original RE remake, and the characters weren't as interesting. But for what it was, which is a prequel to the series, it was quite the experience.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

RE5 Is A Must Buy

Posted : 8 years, 2 months ago on 10 April 2009 12:10 (A review of Resident Evil 5)

I played through all the RE's, and number 5 doesn't disappoint. Sure, I could list the game's trivial flaws, but every game has them, even the greats. Each RE sequel attempts to connect its predecessor's loose plot points, generally resulting in an interesting B-rate script that produces more confusion than closure, and 5 isn't an exception. An insane elitist, seeking immortality, releases a new virus in a remote region of the planet to test it's potential on the local inhabitants. Enter protagonist (this time with partner in two) to combat infected, eradicate bosses, confront primary antagonist, save the day.

So, if the RE plot structure hasn't necessarily changed over the years, what keeps the game so interesting and critically acclaimed?

It's not the plot itself, but how it is presented that makes all the difference. The cinematic direction in this game is some of the best in the biz. Sometimes, I would shoot an explodable barrel just to witness the amazing lighting effects that made the virtual earth tremble beneath my virtual feet. The HD quaility real-time rendering is just a few notches shy of resembling a top budget CGI flick. As for the quick time events during some of the cut-scenes, the complaint is understandable, but if someone tells me that their heart rate didn't jump at least once by them I will dub that person a liar.

I could continue to defend the game, but I will finish with this: If you are like me and have played every RE since the very beginning, chances are you already own this game, but, if you don't, make sure to play it on veteran difficulty the first time through. Normal is too easy, and, if managed properly, some of the arsenal is already powerful enough after one completion to render veteran difficulty an easy walkthrough.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An Oldie

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 21 January 2009 04:49 (A review of Frogger)

Not much to say about a old game like this that I haven't played in a while. But its fun awesome puzzle game can get frustrating. Love the multi-player I remember I used to beat my parents and sisters at it all the time. Well if you ever played the very first Frogger its going to be the same just 3-D.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City review

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 18 January 2009 03:15 (A review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City)

So many people have gone on to say that GTA is one of the most replayable games ever created... and while this is true, it doesn't diminish the fact that it is also one of the most repetitive games in the history of the PS2. Sure, you can play for hours and do the same things for hours on end. But where's the fun in that? You can only shoot so many hookers and run over a certain amount of pedstrians before you feel as if you've run out of things to do. The 80's feel is one of the greatest parts of the game. The main character, Tommy Vercetti, isn't exactly the greatest creation, but for what's there he is pretty interesting. The concept of the story is more or less unoriginal, as it steals from many than a few major mobster movies. The biggest influence on GTA, Scarface, is very notable. Overall, if you were a fan of the third GTA, you'll be more than happy to know that you will get more out of Vice City. If you can put aside the repetition, be sure to dive right into GTA: VC!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Best out of the 3

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 18 January 2009 02:52 (A review of Halo: Combat Evolved)

I've been through this game many a time, killed countless Covenant, Marines, and other Spartans in deathmatches, and I can honestly say it never really gets old. I've even played Halo 2 and 3 since they've been out, came BACK to the first Halo, and got hooked all over again. The first game is better than the sequels in a few ways, and Halo 2 and 3 have their perks over the origional as well, but mostly in terms of graphics. Sure, dual weilding is cool, boarding vehicles is awesome, using the sword is fun, being able to switch guns with your comrades in arms is nifty, but there's something about the 1st Halo that's somehow more enjoyable. Maybe I liked the level design more, or maybe there's just a lot of memories associated with Halo: Combat Evolved, but for some reason I gave this game a ten, and the others an 8.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas review

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 18 January 2009 12:32 (A review of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas)

The best installment of the Rainbow Six franchise takes us to the land of glowing lights, legalized gambling, and legalized prostitution. Although tactically, you generally don't get to interact with the Las Vegas environment the way most big spenders do. You are here to fight terrorists. Using all of the military expertise and cutting edge equipment you can carry your job is to lead a highly skilled team into battle, sneaking from here to there, taking cover, and using context clues to outsmart the enemy. Online play in Vegas is amazing, and you'd be hard pressed to find a better Las Vegas themed tactical military first person shooter game. Rainbow Six: Vegas is another great entry to the series, and many improvements have been made over previous games. If you love shooters, check this one out.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Spider-Man 3 review

Posted : 8 years, 5 months ago on 16 January 2009 03:15 (A review of Spider-Man 3)

Spiderman 3: The Video Game is a perfect example of what a movie game should be, but this spidey thrill ride is not all perfect
The story is very buff, and is extensive throughout 43 story missions, and plentful amounts of other side missions. Including the villians from the movie, you can fight against the Lizard (Dr. Conners) and Scorpion. The combat is as fun as Spider-Man combat can get, mixing webing with melee proves deadly, especially when your enemy is hanging in a web cacoon on a light post, like a pinata. Sprinkled into its already awsome combat are little button mashing sections, and includes stuff you could only do in a cutscene, but you're controlling it.
The Bads? Well, for one, the camera...uh...sucks. It swings epleptically while you swing and climb, it can give you massive headaches, and throw you off and make you die. But the camera is not the only one that makes you die, but the bosses are painfully hard and if you dont like a challenge you might find yourself punching a hole through the wall.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Best Sega Game Ever

Posted : 8 years, 6 months ago on 23 December 2008 04:01 (A review of Sonic the Hedgehog )

I love Sonic. I won't lie to you guys, I love him. He's blue (My fave color), he's got one heck of an attitude, and that's what I love about him. He is what a video game needed back then: a cutting edge hero who was out to prove something, and he was definitely it. The levels were amazing then and they still are now. My all time fave. level is the Starlight Zone (sit there and listen to the music it will make you smile). It's a good thing a I still have my Sega, cause when I want to stop Dr.Robotnik, all I have to do is go in my closet and play what is in my opinion the greatest platformer ever to grace a console: Sonic the Hedgehog!!!!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Death Race review

Posted : 8 years, 6 months ago on 23 December 2008 03:52 (A review of Death Race)

If there is one thing that can be said about Jason Statham, it’s that the man is an action star you can tell is hungry for success, willing to put life and limb on the line for your entertainment. And that effort usually shows in the finished product. - Death Race is no exception.

Naysayers have accosted it for being a mindless, video-game-wannabe, T&A parading, testosterone-ridden mess of a film. (If there is one thing I hate, it’s those whose only “critical” talent is stating the super-obvious.)

And indeed, Death Race is every single thing critics have accused it of being. But for those of us capable of discerning exactly what a film is offering, all that means is that the movie delivers on what it promises, no more, no less. Whether that offer is something you want to receive depends on you.

The plot, as you might imagine, is pretty simplistic: In the future America’s economy has spiraled out of control. Unemployment is rampant amongst the working class, the government’s position has been weakened, leaving private corporations to call the shots. In these dire conditions, many people are forced to turn to lawlessness, causing the prison system to overflow with inmates until a corporate shark known only as Hennessey (Joan Allen), offers up a novel idea: transform prisoners into the new gladiators, pitting them against one another in battle for the viewing pleasure of Web junkies worldwide. - And so, Death Race is born.

Enter Jason Statham as Jensen Ames, a former badass NASCAR driver turned loving husband/father, struggling to make ends meet. When an assassin murders his wife, Ames takes the fall for her death and is sent to prison. There, Hennessey makes him an offer he can’t refuse: either Ames can don the iron mask of perennial Death Race champion, Frankenstein, or he can rot in prison and never see his daughter again. Obviously Ames chooses the former, otherwise we wouldn’t have a movie to talk about.

What happens next can be summed up in two words: Death Racing. Each stock-character racer (an Asian, a Skinhead, a Latino, a Black guy,) is given a car with enough armor to be considered a tank, mounted with obscenely large (and deafeningly loud) guns, some defensive weapons like smoke screens and oil slicks, and a hot-chick navigator to help them steer the course, find shortcuts, etc. Like any good video game, the race is held in three stages, and weapons can only be accessed by driving over electronic “power-ups” that look like manhole covers. After 15 minutes of setup, the drivers start their engines and murder and mayhem ensue for the next 70 minutes.(How Joan Allen got stuck in this quagmire is a secret only the Devil knows for sure.)

There is some plot involved now and again, like Ames uncovering the conspiracy behind his wife’s murder and getting revenge on those involved; “Frankenstein’s” long-standing vendetta with fellow death-racer, Machine Gun Joe (Tyrese Gibson); and a hackneyed third act, complete with a cringe-worthy sugar-coated ending. But none of that matters. The (only) moments where Death Race shines is during the racing scenes, which director Paul W.S. Anderson (Resident Evil) films with an unflinching eye for fast action, old-school stuntman F/X, buckets of gore, drab colors and enough explosive eye-candy absurdity to keep the A.D.D. generation interested. (The sound effects hammering your ear drums also make it hard to sleep through this movie.)

So, final word: Forget about plot, dialogue, character development, or the definition of the word “originality.” If you like fast cars, video game absurdity and hot chicks, go to a Sunday matinee (or wait for a rainy Sunday to watch the DVD), turn your brain volume all the way down to zero, and enjoy Death Race for the guilty pleasure that it is.

And if you can’t do that… well, my friend, you’re probably watching movies for all the wrong reasons to begin with.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block